top of page
  • jyotishah2807

A rainy day view

Updated: Dec 3, 2022


As quickly and sneakily my sun-kissed room began to dull, I approached my window- a thin bronze border outlining a frosted glass pane through which a single beam of glimmering light diffused, striking the shadowed threadbare blanket that lay sprawled across my bed. I watched as the gleaming spotlight for the floating dusty dancers dimmed until it was seen no more. In derision, I glared at the towering clump of ebony billow drifting across the grey-blue sky, threatening rain. It seemed as if it was only getting larger, and soon would collapse to the ground like a rock, so heavy that it would no longer be able to remain afloat. They began to devour the cotton-like stratus clouds that floated like steam gently across the sky and turned them grey. I bid the warm, morning sunshine farewell, as the cruel clouds obscured it and began to growl. Through an aperture in my slightly open window, I felt a thin, cool breeze swerve past my neck and strike my papers, fluttering gently as a brief rustling sound tickled my ears.

Lush, shamrock green trees were awoken from their peaceful slumber and shook violently as leaves that no longer had the strength to hold on to the thin wooden branches snapped off and were blown away in the whistling wind. Though seven floors higher, I could hear the wind dash through the canopies and brush past the rustling leaves- like a crumpling piece of paper, creating a symphony. My windows began to blur as mist crept and slithered along its surface, till the world beneath looked like nothing but a palette of colours. Another loud growl argued with the wailing wind before “bang!”

It burst.

Bucketsful of water showered everything in its path. The sound of ten showers combined loomed in the moist air and as the heavy, charcoal drops of rain plummeted down to earth, they were misguided by the cheeky breeze blowing them in odd directions. It crashed upon the weak, leafless branches of an old tree. It crashed upon the juniper green lawn that looked like a softened rectangle through my foggy window. It crashed upon the fuzzy clump of citrus-orange butterfly weed blossoming in the showers. It crashed upon my window, shaking it vigorously before subsiding and leaving delicate, minuscule crystal balls, sporadically scattered all over the window, ready to race like cars. Though the view through my window was vaporous, the raindrops, of all shapes and sizes came into focus and refracted the image of the storm outside. Through one heavy raindrop, a tree curved like a C. Through another, a high-rise, egg-white structure was warped and contorted.

A moist, mucky smell swindled into my room and entered my nose. As the greedy drops continued to enlarge and swell, an incomparably strong wind gushed and squealed as it entered the narrow gap in my window, displacing every strand of my hair and overturning my sheets of fissling paper. My strength was no match for the storm that was brewing outside. Scrunching my face, and tightly clasping my sweaty palms around the wet handle of my window I pushed until it slammed shut.

From a shower to a pour, to a drizzle I watched the rain subside. From pebble, to smoke to grey and to pearl I watched the clouds transfigure back into wisped steam that revealed the swelling ball of sunshine.


Each ray glistened through the drizzling droplets of rain as they infiltrated the ground. The sun cleared my window of all ambiguity and I could clearly see the wee little drops slip and slide along the luscious wet leaves. My eyes wandered across the sky as if they were painting a picture. Glee bubbled and rippled inside me as muted colours faintly appeared, forming an opalescent arch hanging in the firmament.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page