top of page
  • jyotishah2807

Tip #9: WRITE EVERY IDEA

Hello everyone! This is the ninth of 12 writing tips to improve your writing coming your way. These 12 tips are from my experience of writing a book, writing poems and giving exams.


My ninth tip for you is to WRITE EVERY IDEA.


Throughout the day, we tend to get many new ideas- so many that we forget them within minutes. If you really pay attention to the ideas you get you may find that there is much more that can be done with those concepts. Whether in the shower, dreaming or eating food, write your ideas down. Sometimes, I wake up in the middle of the night and scribble down my ideas. It may be true that some ideas don’t have much potential. However, there may be some ideas that can be developed into interesting stories or poems.


Not only does this apply when writing stories, but may also work for any piece you need to write. For example, when I had to write a report for school, I got a number of clever ideas while trying to sleep. Though it was late, I made sure to wake up and write it down on a nearby piece of paper. It was definitely worth it.


During the process of writing a book, my story is fresh in my head all the time. I get multiple visions about how my story will progress excitingly. Perhaps it will help you to keep a piece of paper around or type down your ideas on your phone. When out of ideas, you can look back at your previous ideas to use them as it is, twist them around, or come up with something entirely new.


The best part is that you can go to your past self for ideas rather than taking inspiration from work on the internet. While taking inspiration is okay to a certain extent, if you are looking to write something completely original, writing down every idea you get will help you. It may also help you practice coming up with unique ideas easily.


To better understand how to come up with your own ideas, check out this blog post: How to come up with your own ideas.


Bonus digital art piece (using a tutorial by GenevieveDesignStudios)

A gingerbread house

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page